New Semester, New Population (Plus Some Heavy)

Hey, all! Sorry for the hiatus; I was busy starting up school, and honestly nothing was really happening that I wanted to talk about (more on that later, though).

But now it’s a new semester, and I’m in my last semester of practicum. I’m working with kids who have special needs. I’ve not worked with this population before, so that’s going to be good for my growth as a student and future music therapist.

For those of you who hear “music therapy” and look like this:

sesamestreetwhat

Let me explain what music therapy is.

According to the American Music Therapy Association (I know, we have our own national group! It’s cool!), “Music Therapy is the clinical and evidence-based use of music interventions to accomplish individualized goals within a therapeutic relationship by a credentialed professional who has completed an approved music therapy program”.

However, most people, as you can probably imagine, don’t want all those 10-dollar words thrown at them when I’m explaining it in person. So I generally say, “music therapy is when a board-certified music therapist builds a therapeutic relationship with his or her clients through music.” I add examples that would be relevant to the person I’m talking to.

For example, I’m talking to an elementary school teacher? I explain how music therapists can create songs with a client to help them perform better in class, or using techniques such as cueing to improve range of motion.

A psychiatrist doesn’t know how music therapy could help his or her clients? I talk about the effects lyric discussion and musical improvisation can have on group and individual progress.

I could go on and on, but the post would be way too long. 🙂 I’m hoping to get settled into the rhythm of my classes (lol) soon!

I did want to pause for a bit, though. The main reason that I dropped off the face of the earth, blog-wise, is because I was dealing with a lot of issues with my mom’s death. She’s been dead for more than a year, now, so my grief isn’t as constant as it used to be. Of course I miss her, but there comes a point where I can’t let myself wallow in my own pain and anger anymore.

Living my life to the fullest would be the best tribute to my mother’s memory, anyway. She was such a caring, loving person. She was on internship for seminary, and died suddenly while completing the internship. I don’t know if any of you reading this are struggling with deep grief of any type, but I want to offer this prayer to help you along your journey:

O God, you hold each of us in your arms as parents hold their children when they are in pain. Be near us all who are suffering in mind, body, spirit, or in any other tangible ways. We are sheep in need of our Great Shepherd to watch over and protect us as we move through our sadness and grief. Trusting in your mercy and grace, we ask all of this in the name of your Son, Jesus Christ, who took on the ultimate suffering that we might have an eternal relationship with you. In his name we pray. Amen

Leave a Reply

